About Us


Our mission

To be recognised as the leading basketball organisation in Gippsland that promotes and develops basketball encourages inclusion and participation, strives for high performance, promotes elite pathways and ensures players have the opportunity to play at the highest level possible.


Formerly Latrobe City Energy, Gippsland United Basketball was formed as a joint venture agreement between Traralgon Amateur Basketball Association and Combined Gippsland Basketball Association with the support of Basketball Victoria.

At the end of the 2023 Big V and VJBL season, the JVA was dissolved with TABA given sole governance of Gippsland United.

Currently Gippsland United is in the process of establishing a Committee of Management with members of local associations to ensure a region-wide strategy and focus for GU.

The aim of Gippsland United Basketball is:

1. To develop a solid, independent program that provides an Elite pathway for Athletes, Coaches, Referees, Technical Officials and Administration Officers.

‚Äč2. To improve the quality of basketball options across all facets in the Gippsland Region by providing and supporting direct opportunities to further the development of Athletes and Coaches.

3. To be a united voice in Gippsland to investigate facility development, gaps, and progress solutions with Local Government, State Government and Federal Government.

4. Develop a brand that represents the Parties in such a manner that can attract a strong supporter base and corporate support while inspiring juniors to continue the pathway program through to the senior elite program.

5. To ensure the Program is inclusive and that the Program operates at all time with integrity and transparency.

Life Members

Role Members Name
Administrator Frank Metcalf
Administrator Larry Muir
Administrator Peter Ruane
Administrator Ron Brooks
Administrator Barb Harvey
Administrator David Roberts
Administrator Barry Herbert
Coach Marty Handson
Player Duncan Brooks
Player Mark Van Dyk
Player Simon Vannapraseuth
Player Laura Vannapraseuth (nee Joyce)
Player Vashon Weaver
Player Megan Eenjes